Book Review: A Mother for Choco by Kieko Kaska


We call it, the Choco book.  And Baby M. (that’s what we’ll call her until we know adopt) searches the room for it.  At two years old, I was sure she’d just throw it in a mental pile with her other books.  I was really surprised how it quickly became her favorite book.

A mother for Choco, is a sweet story about a bird searching for his mother.  He assumes his mother looks like him, with the same physical characteristics.  He fails at his search, but finds a loving mother in a bear who doesn’t look like him at all.  The story is illustrated with simple color on a white background, and the animals are recognizable and expressive.

The story hits home with us, because we are an interracial, foster family and Baby M and  I do not from the same ethnic group. For me the story is also helpful.  At times I wonder if not looking the same is confusing and sad for my child–sometimes it is for me!  It  may be, but I can offer the same love I would offer to any child.  Similarly, she can offer ME the same love she would her biological parents.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. love this post – what a lovely book. I am going to find this at the library.

Leave a Reply

Missions Illuminated

Build Something Memorable

Companion Art Studio

"Because Being an Artist is Cool..." Robert Huey

Before You Dip

Actual F*CKed up racist comments while dating interracially.

peacesofgreen

a journey from the heart

I Could Grow Up, But Why?

Perpetual student, perpetual child.

Ghana Mama

Occasional Updates from Monica Tetzlaff

