I should be cleaning.


I should be cleaning. A social worker is coming over with a child for us to meet, but I can’t help thinking about my last blog posting (Burning…) Do not ask what babies you can have but what babies will have you…I made that up.

Last night I was reminded that I was married.  He doesn’t have Baby Burns like I do. He is a compassionate person who, like me, sees adoption as a way to do some good in the world.  Maybe he feels it more than me–I am satisfying my soul a bit.

Which brings me to this website

www.transracialabductees.org

Good old post-colonial angst.  I do believe the bloggers have points and I am actually listing it on my links page.  If you’re thinking of transracial adoption, read it.  Also know this

1) you can adopt “transracially” domestically. 2) If you decide not to, your adopted children will still be just as angry at some point in their lives–at you, not at the situation that caused them to be abandoned, neglected, abused  or given up to enjoy a better life.

I was blessed by a 19 year old young man at my Quaker gathering who spoke with me for 20 minutes about what to expect–what REALLY to expect.  He shared his pain, and advice and the biggest was  ” no matter what, remember, it’s not your fault, it’s not their fault either.”

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Keep writing girl! You could write a book on this topic… IS the social worker bringing a child over you can give foster care to?

Leave a Reply

Before You Dip

Actual F*CKed up racist comments while dating interracially.

peacesofgreen

a journey from the heart

I Could Grow Up, But Why?

Perpetual student, perpetual child.

Ghana Mama

Occasional Updates from Monica Tetzlaff

