CD Review: Feeling Good Today by Snatum Kaur


I’m posting my reviews here because I don’t believe anyone looks at the pages section…

In 2003 I learned the mantra “I am happy.  I am good,” during my Kundalini Yoga Teacher Training.  I knew that as soon as  I had children I would be teaching it to them.  Little did I know how  much I would need it.   I found Snatum Kaur’s CD  “Feeling Good Today,” at the library and quickly paid hefty fines for keeping it too long.  Purchasing it was the best thing I have done for LilM.

Every morning I walk into her room, turn on track one, open the curtains and walk out. The lyrics do the rest.

Track 1: Feeling Good Today

Chorus: Feeling good today, I am feeling good today.

Verse 1: God inside, is lighting up my way, and I can see that light

in your eyes too, and I am feeling good today!

Verse 2: God inside is dancing, dancing in every way, dancing

around this great big earth, and I am feeling good today!

Verse 3: God and me, me and God, are one, Sat Nam…

Since she has turned three years old, LilM has been trusted to go to the bathroom by herself  after  the title track.  She does a good job, but often stays in bed to sing her favorite tune on the album.

Track 2: The Sun Shines on Everyone

The sun shines on everyone, it doesn’t make choices.

When it rains it rains on everyone, it doesn’t make choices.

The One Spirit, lives in everyone, it doesn’t make choices.

We pray, we pray for everyone, we don’t make choices.

Peace to All, Life to All, Love to All, Raam Raam Hari Raam

Raam Raam Hari Raam

(Raam: Raa is sun, Ma is moon. God’s creativity.

Hari: Seed of God)

If your not a Sikh or even a yoga aficionado the Gurumukhi (Old Punjabi term meaning “from the mouth of the Guru”) lyrics may seem strange.  They are the favorite part for LilM.  They may sound like non-sense to the English ear, but they rhyme which helps her to remember the English translations of the nine mantras on the CD.  She is especially interested in what they mean, which I am happy to tell her.

I  am interested in getting positive music for my child because she is in foster care.  Although we believed our love and consistent routines would be enough to support her emotional health, we soon learned that like other children in foster care she can tap into a negative belief system which (oddly enough ) is part of her survival system (more at http://www.attachmentdisorder.net/Negative_Belief_System.htm).

The lyrics in “Feeling Good,” are by no means therapeutic, but act as strong reminders.

None of this could be possible without the music.  Snatum’s voice is smooth and soothing to adults and children alike  which is a hallmark of many of the kirtan artists from the Sikh Dharma community who put a contemporary western spin on ancient mantras and durgas. On feeling Good, Snatum is accompanied by a choir of seven children,a  lively piano and guitar duo and an upbeat rhythm section.  Feeling Good Today is such a “bright” album that we seldom play it at night.  However, I’ve been known to play “I am Happy” on my MP3 player before I turn in.

Track 3: I Am Happy

I am happy, I am good

Sat Nam, Sat Nam, Sat Nam ji, Waheguru, Waheguru, Waheguru ji.

Translations

Sat Naam: Truth is the Identity of the Divine One within all beings. Truth is God’s Name.

Waheguru: Great and wonderful is the experience of the Divine One who brings us into light.

ji: Divine soul, within each of us and within all beings.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Ooh, interesting. I need to check that CD out and see if any of it conflicts in any way with our own religious beliefs (I doubt it, if what you posted is representative). I need some positive music for our boy to listen to. Music seems to help him. In fact we’re going to get him a cheap MP3 player next time he has 5 consecutive tantrum-free days (which seems impossible right now, but he did it last week). He has very low self-esteem and lots of negative messages running through his head.

Leave a Reply

peacesofgreen

a journey from the heart

I Could Grow Up, But Why?

Perpetual student, perpetual child.

Ghana Mama

Occasional Updates from Monica Tetzlaff

