Mama Grizzly, Granola Moms and the Mother of God.


Good news.  Crunchy organic rice cracker feeding mothers and pushy politicians who preach for the good of their children, relax.  There is another way to be a good parent.   A  unique , humble way  in which to advocate for and rear your offspring exists outside of any mommy club or meetup group.

I call it, “My Unique Way of Parenting.”  It is a collaborative effort found in my gut, and it consists of elements from books, mother and In-Law advice, websites and  marvelous ideas from my own brain. What I love about the “My Unique Way of Parenting,” is that  I am not obliged to force it, or even suggest it to anyone.   I am not hording my technique, but I’m not proselytizing it either. Especially since my children are “exceptional,” which in educational circles means “hard.”

I contemplated my “Unique Way of Parenting,” while my daughter and Mother In-Law (Mimi) acted out the Nativity Story.  Exasperated from 2010 in general, I wondered what parenting style Mary, the mother  of Jesus used.  Biblically, we don’t know much about her style except she was frantic when Jesus disappeared to woo the priest in the temple and was lost in Jerusalem for three days.

When his parents saw him, they were astonished. His mother said to him, “Son, why have you treated us like this?        Your father and I have been anxiously searching for you.”

“Why were you searching for me?” he asked. “Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?

The next verse really seems like an attempt for Luke to explain away the truth.  That Jesus was grounded (or worse) for His answer.

Then He went down to Nazareth with them and was obedient to them. But his mother treasured all these things in her heart.  And Jesus grew in wisdom and stature, and in favor with God and men.

Well, I hope so Mr. Smarty pants.  Because your parents almost had a heart attack thinking that they lost the Son of God!  No irreverence meant here, I am just really wondering if raising Jesus, was completely different from raising my children or if I am more like Mary and less like Sara Palin or my friend at the YMCA who has organic tomatoes growing in her bathroom.

The  “Unique Way of  Parenting,”  I suspect ( and I’m not being a megalomaniac here) is more like Mary’s form.  She did not write  a book called Take My Advice, I raised God. This makes me think of other mother’s like Buddha’s mom.  Siddartha was supposed to be a great King, instead he spent most of his life starving under a  tree.  Can you say, “disappointed?”  Alas, I have gone off on a tangent and can’t get back quite yet.  So, I will leave you all with a poll (you’re allowed 3 answers).

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Yup we are focusing on mercy. I think, if it’s got mercy in it, it’s got to have some God in there, and we are told that is good news. So, trying to show mercy. Trying to recieve mercy as well. Hoping no-one gets injured or screwed up enough to get beyond forgiving each other! Happy New Year!

  2. Before I adopted, I used to get sad at Christmas seeing the Nativity scene, especially Mary and baby Jesus. The year after we adopted “Banana” I felt such grace and gratitude, basking in her beautiful babyness. This Christmas, with illness, my aging parents and their increasing needs, and Banana’s boundless energy and zest for life in a house full of breakables (my mother’s), it was harder to remember that gratitude. Banana likes to throw things to indicate she is finished with them – food, sippy cups. We decided she needed to go to time-out for throwing and here found a little grace when Banana, happy that I was counting the time, joined in as best she could. She is learning numbers at 20 months and she calmed down hearing the refrain of counting. I did too.
    I recall a Friend quoting Anne Lamott, when she was a mother, saying God can appreciate a simple prayer and that’s all you need: “Thank you, thank you. Help me, help me.” Amen.

  3. Keep writing Javaugn and always be true to who you are. You are beautiful and creative and even though you feel challenged, it is your challenge and you will find the answers in your gut, just as you said.
    I love you and admire you. You inspire me as a writer, artist, and most importantly, a mother.
    Thank you for being you!
    Megan

Leave a Reply

Before You Dip

Actual F*CKed up racist comments while dating interracially.

peacesofgreen

a journey from the heart

I Could Grow Up, But Why?

Perpetual student, perpetual child.

Ghana Mama

Occasional Updates from Monica Tetzlaff

